’tis the season

It is the final week before Christmas, and I was sadly put out of work since my fish removed to lay eggs – they are clearling sensing that the holiday season is near!

I wanted to give you a final update before the holidays start and I am off to Munich. – Yes, you heard right! I will be spending the first 2 months of the new year 2017 in Munich, learning a new technique at the Biomedical Centre of the Ludwigs-Maximilian-University in Munich.

I will learn to do 2-photon in vivo imaging in adult zebrafish, which will both be beneficial to my project but I will also bring back the technique back to Edinburgh, as we do not currently use it here. In addition, I will develop a new protocol for anaesthesia and calcium imaging. Overall, it will be very busy but hopefully productive 2 months. This stay is enabled by a travelling fellowship by the Company of Biologists and an Erasmus+ traineeship by the University of Edinburgh.

Of course, I will keep you updated on what is going In Munich! 🙂

The things that happened this december were mainly Christmas-related – many Christmas meals and parties: we had a joint lab Christmas with our colleages from the Sieger & Zhang lab, we had a Centre for Neuroregeneration party (and we raised some donations for the Sick Kids Hospital in the spirit of the season), and I went to another private Christmas dinner. It is safe to say that by the end of December, I will probably have gained a couple of pounds 😉

In Pint of Science 2017 News – we have locked down the City Cafe as our location for the Beautiful Mind events again as it was a great venue last year. Keep posted for more information on the upcoming festival, for now it’s still a secret but we will have some really interesting talks!

Let me present our Beautiful Mind (Pint of Science Edinburgh 2017) location – the City Cafe. Here it is with some sparkling Christmas decoration.

I have attached a few pics for you, as they speak best for themselves.

Have a merry Christmas and a lovely New Year, everyone! – Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

